Satellite Pioneers

Andre VaalbooiAndre Vaalbooi

Hi my name is Andre Vaalbooi, a member of the #Khomani San community. I am staying in the Kalahari in the Northern Cape close to Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, and I am one of the Satellite Pioneers.

Job MorrisJob Morris

I'm a native speaker of Naro from Botswana's Ghanzi District. I'm a defender of of Indigenous rights and a strong supporter of inclusive social policy. As a young person from a very marginalized group, I have grown to understand the importance of culture in todays society. Whereas I know that change is inevitable, without the knowledge of where you come from and ideals that you represent, can bring harm to the very fight of the right to self-determination. I support all those who advocate towards them.

Naisa GhauzNaisa Ghauz

My name is Nǂaisa Ghauz from Namibia. I live in a small village called Tsumkwe in the North-Eastern parts of Namibia, Iam a San lady, iam from a San group called Ju,/'hoansi. I work as a Administrative officer and as an Assistant Librarian at the Tsumkwe Community Library. I am 26 years of age, I have five siblings of which I am the first born and being the first born have taught me one thing which is to be responsible and to be a role model to my siblings and not only to my siblings, but to the society within my community at large because I am one those few people that has completed school in my community. In the future iam welling to be more productive educational and economic wise in order to motivate my fellow San people especially the youth because we can not be marginalized forever. I am one of the satellite pioneers representing Tsumkwe once again thank you ǃkwattu for that opportunity.

Tebsanton TATebsanton TA

Hi my name is Aaron "Tebsanton" Anton from Namibia Gobabis I am proud to be a satellite pioneer I love my community there for it's so important for me to share what is going on in my community on the website… thanks

Tekla KTekla K

My name is Tekla Karupangwe. I was born in Smitchdrift but grew up in Platfontein, Kimberly. I am the first of 5 girls. Matriculated in 2013, studied and dropped out and looking to study again. Growing up as a small child, everything was good. People treated each other with respect and kindness. Thou poverty rates were high but all was well. As a child I was always alone, at home watching TV. Most things I learned from television. Then several years back life took its turn on us, where people were abusing alcohol, drugs and a high rate of teenage pregnancies. More school dropouts than matriculants. Young adults and small children partying and drinking. There’s no respect and kindness towards each other. Life is unimaginable, violence is everywhere. As an individual one has to strive, standout and be a better person. Wanting a brighter future for yourself. To be independent.